Fairlytale feeling and good food

mousehole harbor
I have come to the last stage of the England trip, some days in London together with Peter. In a more stable place in a air bnb rented flat I can finally get time to update the blog a bit. My Cornwall adventures feels like a century ago now, but the get it in the right order here we go, Cornwall part 2:
Since this is a food blog I first have to tell you what awaited me when I came back to my hosts house after the hike on Thursday. They were out for dinner, but to make sure I wouldn’t go hungry they had left me some Indian curry from Helen’s cafe, delicious scones with jam and clotted cream (all the best of butter and whipped cream in to one!) and best of all a box with four different Cornwall cheeses, all amazingly good. There was brie, a perfectly sharp blue cheese and a hard cheese wrapped in nettle leaves that I don’t remember the name of.
As a thank you I baked a crumble with what was left of my blackberries and some apple, and oats and whole wheat flour to get it more healthy. It turned out pretty good, and I only realized after that apple and blackberry crumble is a typical English cake to make this time of year.
Scones, indian curry and cornwall cheeses

After my adventurous day hiking around Sennen beach I was up for a more calm day discovering the Mousehole and Penzance area. After surviving walking on the road from my hosts in to the village of Paul on the narrow road, pressing myself in to the hedges when ever a car or bus passed (and one time befriending some cows who hoped I would give them some thing good to eat) I got to the village Paul, that had a very cute church and an amazing road down towards the sea and Mousehole, lined with trees and the sea glittering in front of you. It made me fall in love with Mousehole before I even got there.
The road down to Mousehole

Just like the name suggests, the village feels like a fairytale place, with winding little streets full of galleries, cafes serving cream tea and restaurants. Here and there there was small tables outside the houses with some home made crafts or bags of scones, with a sign saying ”put your money in the jar”. By the small Barbour the fishing boats where lying on the sand in the low tide and people where strolling around. Although touristy it wasn’t packed and you still got a feeling of the real people and community living there. Walking next to the sea side towards Penzance I passed what most probably have been some of the nicest situated vegetable allotments, overlooking the sea. I went through the fishing village Newlyn, where it felt like life was a bit more every day. Here the fishers men was having lunch next to the harbor, people were queuing to the National lottery office and there was more pubs then cafes. It was not a less nice place, just very different.

vegetable allotments outside Mousehole

Penzance was a nice little town with many crafty shops and tempting cafes around. I went to see my host Helen at her vegetarian cafe, restaurant and health food shop Archie Browns, and had a most amazing and dense raw chocolate fudge cake. Later I came back for the weekly Friday night dinner, this week with Indian food. I was served four different dishes, with things such as samosas, spicy aubergine (mmm!) and mushrooms and beetroot stew. The highlight was the dessert which was a cardamom pudding with mango sauce and a nutty and crunchy samosa with nuts and spices. When I went home with Helen in the evening I was very full, tired and content, ready to set of to the north of Cornwall the next day.
dessert at archie browns indian night

4 responses to “Fairlytale feeling and good food

  1. Vad du skriver och fotograferar bra Paula. En ren fröjd att läsa och se!

    Pappa

    Thu Sep 12 2013 12:33:22 GMT+0200 (CEST), Mitt lilla gröna skrev:

    > Paula posted: ” I have come to the last stage of the England trip, some days in London together with Peter. in a more stable place in a air bnb rented flat I can finally get time to update the blog a bit. My Cornwall adventures feels like a century ago now, but the get” >

Kommentera

